top of page

For Immediate Release

October 17, 2022

Press Contact

Campaign For Our Shared Future Action Fund Endorses 25 Inspiring Change Makers Running for School Board in Michigan

MICHIGAN - Today, the Campaign For Our Shared Future Action Fund (COSF-AF) announced its final round of endorsement of 16 candidates for school board races across the state of Michigan.

COSF-AF is a common ground organization leading the fight against the politicized attacks on education playing out in school board meetings and state legislatures across the country.

“We’ve all seen the desperate attacks from radical activists sowing and capitalizing on public confusion to manufacture outrage over divisive issues. The leaders we support will be champions for an equity-centered, high-quality education, and they will work to provide the children of their communities with everything they need to succeed. The Campaign For Our Shared Future Action Fund and our endorsed candidates are committed to this work because we will not allow a vocal minority of extremists to tear down the public school system, which has long served as the backbone of this nation” said Joaquin Guerra, Political Director of COSF-AF.

The majority of the endorsed candidates are women and are non-incumbents and include parents, small business owners, and educational professionals. The candidates in Michigan are uniquely poised to leverage their roles as school board members as protests over queer books shut down school board meetings and state Board of Education members encourage educators to out LGBTQ+ students to their parents.

The endorsed candidates are:

Candidate School District

Nicole Spencer Birmingham Public Schools

Becky Zimmerman Huron Valley Schools

Jarrod Folsom Rockford Public Schools

Brad Wing Birmingham Public Schools

Arthur Jack Birmingham Public School

Sandeep Chada Bloomfield Hills School District

Patti McCoin Plymouth-Canton Community Schools

Debbie Lennis Huron Valley

Adrienne Rubel Utica Community Schools (UCS)

Shannon King Chippewa Valley School District

Grace Trudell Howell Public Schools

Joseph Pilchowski Huron Valley Public Schools

Peter Accica Lakeview public schools

Ben Duby Huron Valley Public Schools

Brian Spratke Forest Hills Public Schools

Nicolas Lecea Fenton Area Public Schools

Nationally, COSF-AF has endorsed 38 candidates seeking to bring quality and equity to the classroom across 3 different states.


Campaign for Our Shared Future Action Fund ( is a leading organization that works across the many local, state, and other political organizations to support a common ground school board political landscape.

Paid for by Campaign for Our Shared Future Action Fund, 1828 L Street NW Washington, DC 20036, not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.

bottom of page